2014 Workshop Resources

PiNet Welcome Slides
Climate Change Slides (Luanne Thompson)


(see also the Challenge Data page for additional data opportunities)

1.U.S. Code and Regulations
Cornell Legal Institute (Tom Bruse and Sarah Frug)
Codebook for AUTH Database (Kevin Shotwell)
Codebook for Climate Change Public Comments (Tania Melo and Kevin Shotwell)

(Both databases are accessed via cappp.org/phpmyadmin user public pw public)

https://github.com/unitedstates/congress/wiki (Derek Willis)

Congressional Bills Project
All Congressional bills of the 110th, 111th Congresses (John Wilkerson and Kevin Shotwell)
Spreadsheet (CSV)
Compact data (CSV, SQLite, plain text)
Full data (CSV, SQLite, plain text, raw documents)

3.State Legislation
(A dataset that includes the results of a scrape of the texts of all bills for most of the 50(?) states over several recent years is probably available. John Wilkerson).

4.Internet Archive
WayBack Machine (Vinay Goel and Jefferson Bailey)
Matthew Weber’s NetSci Internet Archive Project page
Occupy Wall Street zip file (Matthew Weber)
Emily Gade’s .gov Aggregation of Climate Change word counts by .gov domain scrape (8.2mb). See Emily’s github site for more information and how to access the non-aggregated data (252mb).

5.Public Disclosure
https://www.opensecrets.org/ (Alex Byrnes, Sarah Bryner, Oren Tsur)

6.Policy Agendas Project (Bryan Jones)

7.UN Conference on Climate Change documents


Additional Biographical Information


Dara Strolovitch (Princeton Political Science)<dzs@princeton.edu>:
Website: http://www.princeton.edu/politics/people/display_person.xml?netid=dzs&display=faculty
Strolovitch, Dara Z. 2007. Affirmative Advocacy: Race, Class, and Gender in Interest Group  Politics. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Strolovitch, Dara Z. 2013. “Of Mancessions and Hecoveries: Race, Gender, and the Political  Construction of Economic Crisis and Recovery.” Perspectives on Politics 11: 167-76.
Heaney, Michael T., Seth Masket, Joanne Miller, and Dara Z. Strolovitch. 2012. “Polarized  Networks: The Organizational Affiliations of National Party Convention Delegates.” American Behavioral Scientist 56 (12): 1654-76.
Strolovitch, Dara Z. 2012. “Intersectionality in Time: Sexuality and the Shifting Boundaries > of Intersectional Marginalization.” Politics & Gender 8 (3): 386-96.
Strolovitch, Dara Z. 2006. “Do Interest Groups Represent the Disadvantaged? Advocacy at the  Intersections of Race, Class, and Gender.” Journal of Politics 68 (4): 893-908.

Amber Boydstun (UC/Davis Political Science)<aboydstun@ucdavis.edu>:

Winslow Farrell (George Mason)<winslowfarrell@yahoo.com>:
Wrote “How Hits Happen”, HarperBusiness http://www.amazon.com/How-Hits-Happen-Forecasting-Predictability/dp/0887309070

Lance Bennett (UW Political Science/ Communication)< lbennett@uw.edu>:
His publications include When the Press Fails: Political Power and the News Media from Iraq to Katrina (with Regina Lawrence and Steven Livingston, Chicago), Civic Life Online: Learning How Digital Media Can Engage Youth (M.I.T.), and The Logic of Connective Action: Digital Media and the Personalization of Contentious Politics (with Alexandra Segerberg, Cambridge, 2013).

Bryan D. Jones (UT Austin Political Science)<bdjones@austin.utexas.edu>:
He has published articles in the American Political Science Review, American Journal of Political Science, Journal of Politics, Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory, and the Policy Studies Journal. His book with Frank Baumgartner, Agendas and Instability in American Politics, launched the study of punctuated equilibrium in policy studies.

Herschel Thomas (UT Austin Political Science) <herschelfthomas@gmail.com>:

Andreu Cassas Salleras (UW Political Science)<acasas2@u.washington.edu>:
I am working on two papers. One uses Twitter to study party branding during the 2013 government shutdown and about how the Republican leadership in Congress. The other one uses Twitter and other sources to study the indignados movements in Spain (the Spanish Occupy protests) and its impact on media and political agendas.

Jeffrey Arnold (UW Political Science/CSSS)<jrnold@uw.edu>:
http://jrnold.me , Github: https://github.com/jrnold

Luanne Thompson (UW Oceanography) <luanne@u.washington.edu>:
A very out of date faculty web site faculty.washington.edu/luanne/
Program on Climate Change web site (I am the director) uwpcc.washington.edu
A lecture on Climate Models that I gave to a bunch of journalists http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t3Oq5FryUS0

Tania Melo (UW Political Science) <tmelo@uw.edu>:
“The Future of American Labor Union,” International Union Rights, Nov. 2013

Yejin Choi (UW Computer Science)< ychoi@cs.stonybrook.edu>:

Will Lowe (U of Mannheim Political Science) <will.lowe@uni-mannheim.de> :

David Smith (Northeastern Computer Science)<dasmith@ccs.neu.edu>:

Alex Byrnes (Center for Responsive Politics)<alexbyrnes@gmail.com>:

Mari Ostendorf (UW Electrical Engineering)<ostendor@u.washington.edu>:
My research website is undergoing an overhaul and is not in good shape.  My personal page is at:http://ssli.ee.washington.edu/people/mo/cover.html

William Li (MIT Computer Science)<wli@csail.mit.edu>:
Web: http://people.csail.mit.edu/wli
Li, W., Larochelle, D., Lo, A. W. Estimating Policy Trajectories During the Financial Crisis. NLP Unshared Task in PoliInformatics, June 2014.
Li, W., Azar, P., Larochelle, D., Hill, P., Cox, J., Berwick, R. C., Lo, A. W. Using Algorithmic Attribution Techniques to Determine Authorship in Unsigned Judicial Opinions. Stanford Technology Law Review, 16, 503-533, June 2013.

Sarah Bryner (Center for Responsive Politics)<sbryner@crp.org>:

Janine Wedel (George Mason Public Policy)< jwedel@gmu.edu>:
Just-released book: UNACCOUNTABLE: How Elite Power Brokers Corrupt our Finances, Freedom, and Security (Pegasus, Oct. 2014): http://janinewedel.info/Unaccountable-Flier.pdfExcerpt in Salon: ht
Article featuring Wedel’s work:  www.psmag.com/politics/meet-flexians-government-business-media-money-power-wall-street-65029/
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Unaccountable-Brokers-Corrupt-Finances-Security/dp/1605985821/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1414450914&sr=1-1&keywords=unaccountable+and+wedel
Award-winning book:  SHADOW ELITE (Basic Books, Dec.  2009).  See reviews: http://janinewedel.info/shadowelite_reviews.html

Alan Borning (UW Computer Science)<borning@cs.uw.edu>:

Katherine Stovel (UW Sociology)<stovel@uw.edu>:

Christopher Adolph (UW Political Science/CSSS)<cadolph@uw.edu>:

Matthew Weber (Rutgers Communication) <matthew.weber@rutgers.edu>:
A recent article on news and hyperlinking is available here: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1083-6101.2011.01563.x/abstract

Vinay Goel (Internet Archive) <vinay@archive.org>:

Jefferson Bailey (Internet Archive) <jefferson@archive.org>:

Anne Washington (George Mason Public Policy):

John Wilkerson (UW Political Science):

Sara Frug (Cornell Legal Institute)<sara@liicornell.org>:
My organization does applied research, the results of which you can see
at http://www.law.cornell.edu. At the moment, we’re working to improve regulatory definitions
http://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/7/760.402 and are exploring
visualization techniques (some screenshots on my bio page:
http://www.law.cornell.edu/user/sara ).

Derek Willis (New York Times)<dwillis@gmail.com>:

Noah Smith (Carnegie Mellon/UW Computer Science) <nasmith@gmail.com> :

Lucas Puente (Stanford Political Science)<lpuente@stanford.edu>:

Nicholas Diakopoulos (U of Maryland Journalism)<nicholas.diakopoulos@gmail.com>:
N. Diakopoulos. Algorithmic Accountability Reporting: On the Investigation of Black Boxes. Tow Center for Digital Journalism. February, 2014.
N. Diakopoulos, A. Zhang, D. Elgesem, A. Salway. Identifying and Analyzing Moral Evaluation Frames in Climate Change Blog Discourse. Proc. International Conference on Weblogs and Social Media (ICWSM). June, 2014.

Emily Kalah Gade (UW Political Science)<ekgade@uw.edu>:

Hanna Wallach (U of Amherst/Microsoft Research)<hanna@dirichlet.net>:

Thomas Bruce (Cornell Legal Institute) <tom@liicornell.org>:
My main work product is http://www.law.cornell.edu/ , visited by 27 million individuals every year.  I have written aboutgovernment information policy, open access to law, and the implications of public access to law, as well as technical matters related to metadata and legal linked data, including an advanced data model for legislative information commissioned by the Library of Congress.  Long ago, when I had a longer attention span, I wrote the first web browser for Microsoft Windows.  My LinkedIn profile is here.

Oren Tsur (Northeastern Lazer Lab)<oren.tsur@gmail.com>:

Michael Gabbay (UW Applied Physics Lab) <gabbay@uw.edu>:

Robert Shaffer (UT Austin Political Science) <rbshaffer@utexas.edu>:
Elkins, Zachary, Tom Ginsburg, James Melton, Robert Shaffer, Juan F. Sequeda, Daniel P. Miranker. “Constitute: The World’s Constitutions to Read, Search, and Compare.” Journal of Web Semantics (forthcoming).

Justin Farrell (Yale Sociology) <justin.farrell@yale.edu>:

Comments are closed.